October 12th, 2017

Kat tells us about a fun adventure in NYA Next

Hi my name is Kathleen Gill and I am from Fort Smith, Northwest Territories.

I am 22 years old and participating in the NYA NEXT program in Ottawa where we stay at Algonquin College for 6 weeks and do a variety of things like construction class, science class, mock trials, and present to groups of people who know little to none about Nunavut and the Northwest Territories.

Leading up to Nunavut Day, our schedule was busy so we didn’t have anything planned for that particular day. As the day goes on it’s early afternoon and one of our participants Allie knows the aboriginal singer Kelly Fraser was performing in downtown Ottawa.

So our group leader Lindsay rounds up a small group of us and we leave the college residence at 6:30 to make it downtown for 7:30. As we’re walking to the bus stop Lindsay goes “That’s our bus, RUN!.“ so we all take off and catch the bus. Then quickly realize we’re going in the wrong direction. We get off at the next stop, wait for the right bus and make our way. We wander around for a bit, find where Kelly is going to sing and start asking around where we can find her. Two nice ladies tell us “Oh…..she just finished up”. They pointed us in the direction she was performing and she was still hanging around the area so we briefly got to talk to her and got a group picture. Afterwards we got to explore a little.

We went to Parliament Hill, Rideau Canal, added some things to a scavenger hunt that is for next years’ NYA NEXT participants. All throughout the evening there were many times Lindsay made us run against our will but with good intention. After more exploring we got on a bus (the right one), head back to residence and crash on account of such a good night.

I look forward to more adventures with my group.

October 12th, 2017

Wally’s summer in Chiliwack, BC

Hi, my name is Wally Issigaitok, and I am from Hall Beach, Nunavut.

I was placed in Chilliwack, British Columbia, and I worked at the Salvation Army for three weeks and then moved to the YMCA for the rest of my placement.

At first I was working with adults at the food bank where those who needed it could get free food and at the YMCA I was working with kids who were very fun to be around. The YMCA was the best thing I have ever done! At first it was hard, but then I got used to it and planned some great activities which helped me not feel homesick.

During NYA, I learned that I could be away from home for a long time.

October 12th, 2017

James shares his experience in an auto shop

For my Personal Learning Project, I got to visit an auto shop called Takakis Auto Repair where I
got to work with mechanics.

I chose this as my PLP because I am very interested in hands on work and I like working with vehicles. While I was there I got to help with oil changes, taking apart rims and tires and changing one of the be it’s in a vehicle. Once I go back home, I plan on taking a trades program after high school.

I also got to do a second PLP where I got involved at the Nepean Sportsplex by playing badminton with one of the other Participants, Donathan. I hope in the future to be able to coach badminton and to get more people back home involved with the sport.


October 3rd, 2017

Donathan shares his Personal Learning Project

For my Personal Learning Project, I chose to get involved with playing badminton.

I chose this because it would help me get fit, be involved in the community and organize activities. I like the social aspect of the sport and would love to be able to teach the game to other people.

To play badminton, I went to the Nepean Sportsplex to play some drop-in games with my friend James, who also loved the sport. With the help of our group leader Dian, we were able to get all the proper equipment we needed to play such as shoes, birdies and a racket. We played with 12 other players of varying abilities, and got to meet lots of other players.

I am excited to be able to keep playing when I get home, and in the future, I would like to coach younger people and get involved with my community. This will also help me stay fit after the NYA program, and will help encourage me to stay busy so I can quit smoking.


October 3rd, 2017

DJ shares his hopes for the summer with NYA Next

Hi, my name is David Jr. Porter and I am from Gjoa Haven, Nunavut.

I first attended Northern Youth Abroad in 2014 as a Canadian Participant where I was placed in Bear River, NS. I volunteered at the Fundy YMCA at a day camp. I am now doing the NYA Next Program. It gives us the opportunity to experience life after high school where we complete a trades class for 4-5 weeks. It is a great opportunity, as we gain lots of experience and can earn up to 9 high school credits as well.

For the program, we travel from our home community to Ottawa, Ontario for 7 weeks where we all start at Orientation and get to meet all the other Participants. At Orientation we get to know everyone and we learn about what we will be doing in the summer while we complete group activities.

In the future, I would like to become either a hair stylist or a baker and I am hoping that by the end of the program I will be able to achieve the goals I have set for myself during Orientation.

– DJ

September 21st, 2017

Devon reflects on his favourite memories from Chilliwack, BC


My name is Devon Manik. I am from Resolute Bay or qausuittuq in Inuktitut, which means the place that never dawns.  The average temperature in the summer is approximately 0-10 degrees C. In the winter, the average temperature is approximately -40 to –60 degrees C. The landscape is very barren with very few plants but lots of gravel, rocks and mud. For fun I like to take photographs when I go hiking with my dogs. Last year, I was accepted to participate in Northern Youth Abroad, and since then I have learned so much and have seen so many things and I am very thankful for this.

I was placed in Chilliwack, BC and my favourite day was when I got to meet up with one of my friends and we went to the beach for a morning swim. It was my first time swimming in the ocean. After, we went diving with harbour seals near the docks off the coast of Vancouver. I saw lots of seals and could faintly see jellyfish too! We also got to kayak with the seals after our swim before going home to my host community.  

When I grow up, I want to finish school and I would like to create a company that makes electronics, robots and A.I. to make the world a better place. I would like to create this in Nunavut, the first of its kind, to have Resolute Bay and Grise Fiord running on renewable energy. My dream for myself and for the world would be to make the world pure again, without countries and with just the Earth as our home.

I hope you liked my blog, thank you and have a wonderful life,


September 21st, 2017

Chris and his summer in Nova Scotia

Hi my name is Christopher Atutuvaa and I am from Baker Lake, Nunavut. This summer I was placed in Bear River, First Nations, Nova Scoita, and my work placement was at the Fundy YMCA. My buddy was Doyle Algona from Kugluktukt.

At first I wasn’t sure about Northern Youth Abroad until my cousin told me that it was a really fun program, which she completed a couple of years ago . So I applied for the program and I was surprised that I was chosen to do an interview with the program, and I was one of the lucky ones who got picked.

My work placement was fun at the Fundy YMCA in Cornwallis, Nova Scotia. I was one of the youth leaders there and there was usually 10 to 15 youths, and the youth there were fun to be around. My host mother was Holly and she has three kids and their names are; Cruzer (the oldest), Jesse ( the middle), and Brock (the youngest).

During my time in Bear River, First Nations I had a blast. We did things like swimming in the coummity pool everyday, went for long walks, and we went to Digby, Paradise, and Halifax. My summer in Bear River was so fun and if I had the chance to go there again I would, and there would be no regrets doing it again.

September 21st, 2017

Allie shares his Personal Learning Project experience

For my Personal Learning Project, I got to tour around the Ottawa Civic Hospital with some of the other Participants. The reason I chose this for my PLP is because I am interested in medicine and saving lives. During the tour, I got to learn how to draw pretend “blood” which was pretty fun to learn. I also got to remove fluid from a model trachea. The nurse educator taught us these new skills and I am glad I chose this PLP because I learned things that I have never been able to do before.

I hope in the future that I can become a Doctor so that I can help people.

Thank you for reading!


August 22nd, 2017

Jo reflects on her time in Campbell River, BC

Hello, my name is Joellen Netser but  I prefer Jo. I am from Coral Harbour, NU known as Salliq also. The population there is over 800+. There aren’t many job opportunities, so some of the graduates struggle finding a job, so they go out of town for college. My work placement was at Steiner Bakery in Campbell River, BC. 

My host family was living on her own with her dog, a chocolate lab named Buddy. What I find different in the South is the heat is really hot besides my hometown, it goes up to like +20 back home, and in Campbell River its like +35.
And on workdays we have to wear anything that isn’t showing any of our skin and I was boiling inside because of the heat!

The culture is sort of similar to mine they have beaded clothing, beaded rings. The difference is they have a different language than us, but i learned some of the words they speak and I taught them some of my language. What I have done so far is i have accomplished most of my goals, which included going somewhere new for the summer. And I want to do more in the future and conquer the world!

An activity I did in Nanoose Bay was tubing for the first time, and I had fun.

My summer 2017 in Ottawa for NYA was worth it. I’ve met so many awesome people from many different places, learned their ways of their culture, I’ve had a great time so far, and I encourage youth to try for this program because it is a very good experience and it earns you 9 high school credits!

August 17th, 2017

John reviews his trip to Collingwood, ON

Hello, my name is John Thomas Stanley Noksana 3rd and i am currently placed in Collingwood Ontario where I live with a host family who are named Bruce and Sandra.

They are really nice people who tell us and show us interesting places like the green elevators where they build and sent ships out.

The green elevators is a place where huge columns of grown food such as wheat and other crops were stored and shipped.

They’ve also showed us the mills dairy farm where they sell fresh chocolate and regular milk in normal and milkshake form which was a pretty cool.

I liked these experiences because where I’m from (tuktoyaktuk N.W.T) there is really nothing like it. Even the slang/jargon used here is different and the culture is definitely different.

I feel like I needed a program like this to become more independent and grow as a person. This program is a great thing for anyone in my opinion because you can learn good leadership skills, improve your work ethic, and definitely gain work experience to prepare for living in the south for college.