Alisha shares her experiences in London

August 4th, 2015

Alisha, Kyla, Sandra at horseback riding

My experience in the NYA program has been extremely amazing and incredible. I am so happy I’ve got to have this experience. I was placed in London, Ontario. My placement buddy is Kyla. My host mom’s name is Deb Branston. She has 2 sons Micah who is 3 and Matthew who is 9. She also has 2 foster daughters. I’ve had a lot of fun this summer and did a lot of stuff like: go to Canada’s Wonderland, horseback riding, to East Park (which is a water park in London), go on a tall ships tour in Toronto, go to Stratford to see a play called the Sound of Music, go go-karting, to the beach, to Rock Glen Conservation Park, to the movies many times, and the mall. I also made a new friend from France who was also a student staying with my host family. I worked at the London’s Children Museum. I did stuff like art demos and science demos with kids, planning for day camps and prepping for camps too.  I really enjoyed working there. My coworkers were really friendly and awesome. I will also be starting at a bakery for the last 2 days. I’m excited to work there. I’ve gotten used to living in the South. I’ve explored most of the city and know my way around. I’m used to taking the bus everywhere. I’ve made a lot of new friends too, which was one of my goals. Kyla and I have also gotten to hang out with Angela and Sandra a few times. Marcus and Paul also came over with them one night and we went swimming in the backyard and had a campfire and sundaes. It was really fun. I haven’t really been homesick. I’m having too much fun to be missing home. I’m really glad that I’ve done this program and looking forward to applying for the international program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *