Jeremi’s time in Kingston so far

August 5th, 2019

Hi, my name is Jeremi Boisvert and I’m from Taloyoak, Nunavut. I am 17 years old. I have lived most of my life in Taloyoak but I did live in Montreal when I was younger, where my dad is from, so I have been to the south quite a bit but never without my parents.

My placement is in Kingston, ON. I think it’s pretty nice here and I’ve enjoyed my time so far. I’ve always liked swimming, my buddy Dion and I went swimming in Lake Ontario, Big Salmon Lake, and to a couple of pools. I also like going to the movies with my buddy and I finally got to see Avengers: Endgame. There aren’t any theatres in my community so its cool not to have to wait six months to see new movies.

My work placement is at the D&D Auto shop, where I assist the mechanics fixing cars and have some cleaning duties. The guys there are really nice and I enjoy working there, though some days feel long especially when I don’t get my coffee in the morning. I drink a little too much coffee for someone my age, but what can I say, I get it from my parents.

My host family, Wilson and Caroline, are really nice and their home is as well. They have lots of space for Dion and I. I really appreciate that they welcome us into their home and for taking us to places to see and try new things.

I applied for NYA for a few reasons but the biggest being I wanted to get experience living in the south so that I’m ready when I go for post-secondary school. I wasn’t sure where I wanted to go, but I think I might try for Queens here in Kingston. I want to study electrical engineering, and at queens, they have good engineering courses and an indigenous entry program which all make Queens convenient for me. I will be going to an engineering camp there next week which I am looking forward to. I am going to Canada’s Wonderland with Dion and two other NYA participants, Nathan and Lutie which I’m really excited for.

NYA has been a really good experience for me so far, I made lots of friends at Orientation and I can’t wait to see them at Re-Orientation. I encourage anybody of age to apply it is an amazing experience, especially if you are from Nunavut, the pop is nice and cheap.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *