Jailyn tells us about her work placement and her travels this summer

July 24th, 2018

Hi! My name is Jailyn Edgi and I’m a 17-year-old from Fort Good Hope, Northwest Territories. So far, I’ve been enjoying my time here in London, Ontario, especially my work placement, where I work in a daycare facility. I am required to take care of children and watch them. I find it fun but sometimes it gets a bit hectic. On occasions during the week, we would go for short (yet long) walks, have water days—where we would get out a hose with sprinklers and have the kids run around, make smoothie popsicles, have sandcastle competitions, and many other things. 

In the future, we will get to see a fire truck—which I’m sure the children would enjoy considering they always pay lots of attention to the garbage truck whenever it comes by. Other than that, I like working with the children. They’re very sweet and super nice towards me. In fact, on my first day, they invited me to play carwith them.

Aside from my work placement, I’m also enjoying my stay with our host family. They’ve been keeping both my buddy and I busy. For example, they’ve brought us bowling, took us on a trip to Niagara Falls—which was very exciting considering I’ve never been before, took us to an art class which included spray painting, brought us to Lake Huron, and many other places. My first week I was a little homesick and sad, but Deb and her two sons, Micah and Mathew, have made me feel better. I am looking forward in getting to know them for the remaining weeks of the program.

Thank you for taking the time to read this,

Jailyn Edgi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *